Representatives of Public and Private Organisations, Östergötland County

27 November, 2015

First Vice-President Frans Timmermans; Vice-President Maroš Šefčovič; Commissioner for Climate Action and Energy, Miguel Arias Cañete; Commissioner for Economic and Financial Affairs, Taxation and Customs, Pierre Moscovici; Commissioner for Competition, Margrethe Vestager

Dear Sirs,

We write to you in order to show our support for the appeal from the Swedish government in October 2015 in regard to the Swedish carbon tax. We represent a number of public entities as well as private enterprises from the Eastern region of Sweden, Östergötland.

We fully support the Swedish government's call for a system where national carbon taxes are allowed within the European Union without being considered as state aid. It is essential for Sweden and for our region to have cost-effective carbon taxes that consider the fuel's impact on the climate from a life cycle perspective, in line with the Polluter Pays Principle, and that provide long-term, stable rules for the industry. This would encourage further investments to increase the share of renewable fuels and would contribute to creating green jobs.

Östergötland is a region with thriving companies within the bio-fuel sector and high ambitions in respect to decreasing emissions of climate gases. Several municipalities within the region aim at being fossil free by 2025. The region itself has set the same bold objective. To maintain and grow the corporate opportunities within the biofuel sector, as well as reaching our stretched targets, it is absolutely essential for Östergötland that the European Union finds a workable solution to fuel taxation that considers the fuel's impact on the climate from a life-cycle perspective (i.e. taking into consideration the GHG-emission savings from different type of fuels). We thereby strongly support the initiative by the Swedish government to find a solution to this issue.

Yours sincerely

Schriddele D.C.

Elisabeth Nilsson County Governor, Östergötland

NG

Nils Hillerbrand Deputy Mayor, Linköping

Camilla Egberth Chairman of the city council, Motala

Wen

Mattias Ravander Chairman of the City Council, Söderköping

Mut Joh

Mats Johansson Chair regional executive committee Region Östergötland

Lars Stjerndvist Chairman of the City Council, Norrköping

Hans Måhagen

Chairman of the city council, Kinda

Britt-Marie Johansson Municipality Mayor of Boxholm

Elisabet Edlund Chair of the Municipal Executive board, Åtvidaberg

John Askling Chairman of the board of Cleantech Östergötland

Peter Borring Chairman of the regional board of the Farmers' Federation in The province of Östergötland

Christoffer Andersson CEO, Swedish Rural Economy and Agricultural Societies

Jan Nystedt CEO, Biototal Group

Stefan Holmertz CEO, Optibag

Maria Gungner Managing Director, East Sweden Energy Agency

Karin Varverud CEO, Energifabriken

Hans Bäck CEO, Stångåbuss Trafik AB

Clas Gustafsson CEO, Helgenäs Bulktransporter

Amieli Scarm

Annicki Oscarsson Chairman of the City Council, Ödeshög

Anders Jonsson CEO, Tekniska verken

Mats Eklund Professor Environmental Technology and Management, Linköping university, Director, Biogas Research Center

Beng^{J/}Olof Johansson Managing Director Lantmännen Agroetanol

Anna Brynås CEO, Swedish Biogas

Bengt[/]Lagerman Managing Director, Returpack AB

Jonanna Palmér CEO, Chamber of Commerce of East Sweden

Ceult

Jörgen Emanuelsson CEO, Emanuelssons transport

Bengt Samuelsson CEO, Torpa Gård